Travel

The Last Bookstore

Living in Southern California means you’ve been to LA multiple times. Right!? Not me. Despite living here for the past twenty-five years, I’ve really only visited the city twice.  Maybe three, if you count watching a Dodgers game.  I’ve never really explored DTLA. But this week, my besties and I went to see Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone IN CONCERT at the Hollywood Bowl (cue freak out–it was AMAZING) and we spent the afternoon in DTLA before the show.

So, naturally being the book nerds that we all are, we went to The Last Bookstore.  If you like books, and you’re visiting LA, go here.  It’s wonderfully eclectic, with lots of used and new books, old music records, and above the first floor is an art gallery and some cute shops. I totally bought a bunch of books (and was not judged on my choice of 500 Cupcakes), and then bought more stuff in the FOLD shop.

Did my husband give me the “eye”? Absolutely. Do I regret it? Absolutely not.

Last time I was in a bookstore comparable to this one (NOT Barnes and Noble) it was Powell’s Book Store in Portland, Oregon.  A MUST MUST MUST for you people! Powell’s is HUGE –like a whole city block, plus several levels– and has LITERALLY EVERYTHING.

So, if you’re in LA, and you’re totally awesome like me, go.  You WILL park in a dirty lot that smells like piss, and you WILL walk past some interesting characters, and you MAY step in water you don’t want to touch, but once you get past all that, you’ll enjoy your time in here immensely.

Oh, and take a picture in the Tunnel of Books! (I did, but a total stranger took the photo and it’s terribly blurry, oh well.)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

